CITY OF YORK COUNCIL

Resolutions and proceedings of the Meeting of the City of York Council held in Guildhall, York on Thursday, 22nd January, 2009, starting at 6.30 pm

Present: The Lord Mayor (Cllr Brian Watson) in the Chair, and the following Councillors:

ACOMB WARD	BISHOPTHORPE WARD
Horton Simpson-Laing	Galvin
CLIFTON WARD	DERWENT WARD
King Scott	Brooks
DRINGHOUSES & WOODTHORPE WARD	FISHERGATE WARD
Reid Sunderland	D'Agorne Taylor
FULFORD WARD	GUILDHALL WARD
Aspden	Looker
HAXBY & WIGGINTON WARD	HESLINGTON WARD
Firth R Watson	Jamieson-Ball
HEWORTH WARD	HEWORTH WITHOUT WARD
Blanchard Funnell Potter	Ayre
HOLGATE WARD	HULL ROAD WARD
Alexander Bowgett Crisp	Cregan Pierce

HUNTINGTON & NEW EARSWICK WARD	MICKLEGATE WARD
Hyman Orrell Runciman	Fraser Gunnell Merrett
OSBALDWICK WARD	RURAL WEST YORK WARD
Morley	Gillies Healey Hudson
SKELTON, RAWCLIFFE & CLIFTON WITHOUT WARD	STRENSALL WARD
Moore Watt Waudby	Kirk Wiseman
WESTFIELD WARD	WHELDRAKE WARD
Steve Galloway Sue Galloway Waller	Vassie

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Douglas and Holvey.

HONORARY FREEMEN

51. The Lord Mayor declared the object of the meeting, under Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972. which was to confer the status of Honorary Freeman upon Dr Richard Shepard and Mr Ted Griffiths.

It was then moved by Cllr Waller and seconded by Cllr Scott:

"That, pursuant to its powers under Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council do confer the title of Honorary Freeman of the City of York upon:

Dr Richard Shephard, in recognition of his contribution to York Minster and the University of York in a variety of development and academic roles

and:

Mr Ted Griffiths, in recognition of his work on the Remembrance Day Parade and other ex-services events in York."

The motion was put to the vote and declared CARRIED unanimously and it was

RESOLVED: That the above motion be approved.

Councillor Brian Watson LORD MAYOR OF YORK [The meeting started at 6.30 pm and concluded at 6.35 pm]